The History of the Top Women’s March Madness Teams

The history of the top women’s NCAA Tournament teams is one of sustained excellence and success. UConn, Tennessee, Stanford, and Texas A&M have consistently been at the top of the rankings and women’s college basketball picks, each having achieved at least one national championship. 

In addition, the top schools have been led by some of the greatest players and coaches in college basketball history, such as Breanna Stewart, Pat Summitt, and Tara VanDerveer. These teams have also hugely impacted women’s college basketball, inspiring countless young girls to pick up a ball and pursue their dreams.

The Women’s March Madness tournament is an annual college basketball event that determines the national champion of women’s NCAA basketball teams in the United States. It’s been held annually since 1982 and played in a single-elimination format since its inception. 

Throughout the tournament’s history, the top women’s teams have consistently competed for the national championship, with the University of Connecticut Huskies, University of Tennessee Lady Vols, Stanford Cardinal, and Texas A&M Aggies making up the cream of the crop. They’re not alone, though, as other teams have had their share of success, as well.

Connecticut Huskies

The Huskies have been the most successful team in the NCAA Women’s Tournament, having won 11 national championships since 1995. They have had many incredible players and coaches that have led the way to their success, including Hall of Fame coaches Geno Auriemma and Rebecca Lobo and legendary players such as Breanna Stewart, Maya Moore, and Diana Taurasi. 

The Huskies had their last chance to win the title in 2022 but were stopped by South Carolina in the championship game 64-49. Nevertheless, they have been the dominant force in women’s college basketball for the last two decades and will likely continue for many years.

Tennessee Lady Vols

The Lady Vols have had their own triumphs in the tournament, having won 8 national championships since 1987. The squad has been led by legendary coach Pat Summitt, the winningest coach in NCAA Division I basketball history.

The team has had many star players, including Chamique Holdsclaw, Tamika Catchings, and Candace Parker. The Lady Vols have been a consistent powerhouse in the tournament, making it to the Final Four in ten of the last 20 years.

Stanford Cardinal

The Cardinal have won the March Madness women’s tournament three times, including back-to-back championships in 1990 and 1992. They have had some of the best players in the game’s history, such as Nicole Powell, Nneka Ogwumike, and Candice Wiggins, and are currently coached by the legendary Tara VanDerveer. They won their last title in 2021 and returned to the Final Four in 2022, losing to the UConn Huskies in the semifinals.

Texas A&M Aggies

The Aggies have also had their share of victories in the women’s March Madness tournament, winning it in 2011 and making it to the Final Four in three consecutive years from 2011-2013. They have been led by stars such as Danielle Adams, Takia Starks and Kelsey Bone.

The Aggies have been consistently competitive throughout the years. They continue to be successful, making it to the Sweet Sixteen in three of the last four NCAA tournaments under coach Gary Blair. 

Baylor Bears

The Bears have had tremendous success in the NCAA Women’s Tournament, reaching the Elite Eight or better in nine of the last 12 seasons and making two Final Four appearances. In addition, they won the national championship three times in 2005, 2012, and 2019 and have won the Big 12 Tournament six times in the last seven years. 

Baylor has also played great leading up to the tournament, winning five Big 12 regular season conference championships and going undefeated in both 2011 and 2012. Their success in the NCAA Women’s Tournament has been a major factor in the program’s recent success, and they are well-positioned to remain a contender for the foreseeable future.

Recent Articles

Related Articles